Tags

, , , , , ,

The other day I gave myself a seriously fun manicure, so I figured I’d share how to do it here! To be perfectly honest: yes, this one is kind of a pain in the butt. It certainly takes some patience. But I think the results are cute enough that it’s worth it!

You’ll need:

  • 3 polish colors of your choice: I went with Essie’s Tart Deco, Peach Daiquiri, & Red-Y Set Ex
  • Your base coat and top coat: I use Essie’s Rock Solid and Good To Go
  • Scotch Tape
  • Craft scissors in the pattern of your choice
  • The beer is optional 😉

  1. Do a coat of your base coat, followed by one or two coats of the color you want for the middle of your manicure. Let the first color dry completely (I generally watch a movie or something in between, so a good hour or two).
  2. Cut ten strips of scotch tape and trim with your craft scissors on one side. Press firmly onto the nail, leaving space for your bottom color. I also press the tape onto my skin before putting it on my nail so it will peel more easily, but that bit is optional. Then paint down towards your cuticle in your bottom color of choice (this bit is the most difficult in my opinion: as you can see, I got quite a bit on my cuticles).
  3. Peel the tape from your nail immediately after painting that finger. The longer the polish dries, the more the tape will stick to your nail. However, be patient: you don’t want bits of tape stuck in your manicure. Once you’ve done each finger, do a thin layer of top coat and again, let the color dry completely. I actually left my nails overnight at this point to be sure.
  4. Cut another ten strips of tape. This time, press firmly onto your nail leaving the top bit exposed. Make sure to note which direction your pattern faces so that it matches (or doesn’t) as you want. Paint upwards over the tape as you usually would and peel the tape immediately, as noted in the previous step. Add a final layer of top coat and you’re done!

As you can see, I was left with a bit of polish around the cuticles at first, but quite a bit of that comes off in your first hot shower. If not, a q-tip dipped in nail polish remover goes a long way.

Here’s another version I did with a slightly different pattern and just two alternating colors. With the pastels, it easily reminds me of Easter eggs and I’m sure it would make a super cute Easter manicure.

Let me know if you give this one a try! I’d love to see what you come up with. Happy Painting!

