Tags

, , , , ,

My mom’s birthday was last Monday, so to celebrate we went out to Darren’s Restaurant in Manhattan Beach for a seriously fantastic meal! Since I hadn’t been there before, I put together an outfit that I felt was dressy enough for a nice beach town restaurant on a Monday night, but still extremely comfortable.

I’m wearing:

Some of you may have noticed that my hair’s different than usual in these! That’s because earlier that day I was in Sephora picking up my mom’s present and decided to try out Charlotte Ronson’s “A Perfect Mess Beach Hair” spray. I’d actually let my hair air-dry overnight so I figured it was the perfect opportunity to try it out. Normally when my hair air-dries, it’s super fluffy and I throw it up in a bun, but with the spray, it was wavy and beachy instead, which I can totally deal with as a second option. I was very pleased.

Oh and did I mention the food was pretty much amazing? First of all, we shared a fantastic bottle of wine and even the bread for the table was perfect (both kinds: I made sure). My mom and I split the Drunken Goat and Baby Arugula Salad (Drunken Goat being a type of goat cheese). Then for my main dish, I went for the fish special, which was lobster ravioli with a vanilla bean lobster sauce and a little bit of mashed potato. I was so glad I got past the fact that vanilla with lobster sounded a little odd because holy moly, that meal was one of the better ones I’ve had in quite some time. What it comes down to is this: you should probably check out Darren’s Restaurant if you get a chance.

On the way back to the car, we passed an empty laundromat, so naturally I had my brother take a couple silly shots of me in there. So I leave you with this:

