Tags

, , , , , , , ,

That’s right, folks. It’s time for my New Comic Wednesday reviews for the week! Let’s jump right in.

Dollhouse Epitaphs: #3

For anyone who might be confused: yes, Issue #4 came out last week. Somehow, I’d missed Issue #3, so The Comic Bug was nice enough to take down my information and they set this aside for me when it came in over the last week!

It’s a bit odd backtracking in the story, but I still enjoyed this issue. Mainly it helped clarify for me what’s going on between Alpha and Paul in Issue #4. It seems that Alpha’s started being a very bad boy again in this issue and, understandably, Paul won’t stand for that. The banter between the two Ivys is some quality stuff as well. Having the same personality in both a man and a woman with shared memories leads to some rather interesting conversations. Plus, yet again, Phil Noto‘s cover art kills me every time. It’s just SO pretty. I also recently discovered that he has a tumblr, which made me pretty excited.

Avengers 1959: #2

Issue #2 opens with Nick Fury returning home amidst some serious confusion to find a man in his study who appears to have all the answers. There’s a suspicious-seeming alliance being formed between the U.S. and a country called Wakanda. There’s Mad Men-style scotch drinking and innuendo. Plus The Blonde Phantom (Louise Mason) is one of the Avengers in this era, which makes me rather happy since I’ve been seeing images of her for years without knowing much about her. She’s a strong, classy dame who is willing to get into bed with the enemy to find out what she wants to know and does it in garters, glasses, and bustier. Gotta love it. She’s currently in Latveria, where Nick fury and co. arrive to find out what’s going on. Basically, they all think Nazis are reappearing seemingly out of nowhere and the source may be Latveria.

As I think I mentioned with the last issue, there’s certainly a lot going on in Avengers 1959. One minute they’re in Latveria, the next they’re in Wakanda, and then you turn the page and the other group is boarding a ship in the middle of the ocean somewhere. It still gets a bit confusing in this second issue, but all in all, I enjoy the retro style and the thickening plot. Of course, my favorite bit of this issue had to be Nick Fury and The Blonde Phantom teaming up to fight a group of Nazi zombies. Good times.

Catwoman (New 52): #1

I hadn’t spotted Catwoman amongst The New 52 before this week, so naturally I scooped up Issues 1 and 2! In the start to this Catwoman reboot, we begin with Selina Kyle being unceremoniously tossed (literally) out of her apartment, half-dressed in her Catwoman suit with her fur babies dangling precariously out of their cat carrier. Moments later, her current abode is blown to bits.

Thus begins an appropriately intriguing first issue for Catwoman. From there, we’re introduced to a rare friend in Selina’s life, Lola (who actually was  a showgirl), who currently acts as her fence and intel man. Thanks to Lola, Selina finds herself a place to squat and some intel for a new job. After some unexpected twists with said job, she winds up back at her new abode when a surprise visitor shows up, things get sexy, and “most of the costumes stay on.

I definitely dig this as a start to the Catwoman series. Selina is as saucy as expected, as morally ambiguous as ever, and curvaceous to boot. The art in this issue is striking as well. I love how each setting has a different color scheme. The one that stuck out the most was the Russian club – all muted colors with splashes of red for the most part. With the ending of this issue, I’m glad I was able to pick up Issue #2 at the same time.

Catwoman (New 52): #2

After Issue #1, I noticed that both Catwoman books are rated T+, which is worth noting, as I don’t believe any of the other New 52 I’ve read have been. I actually discussed it with a friend of mine because we were both surprised at how long Catwoman’s romantic interlude goes on and how graphic they get. However, I watch True Blood, so it’s basically par for the course.

As for Issue #2 itself, I’m still on board! I think Issue #1 stood on its own better, but #2 definitely moves things along nicely. Selina arranges for payment on her recently acquired (read: stolen) painting between rival Russian mobs in the middle of a benefit thrown by none other than Bruce Wayne, who seems to know who she really is. Throw in a not-so-pleasant twist ending and I’ll be very glad when Issue #3 comes out next month.


Batman (New 52): #2

In this issue, we pick up where we left off with Issue #1: Bruce Wayne’s life has been threatened and Batman’s on the case. Following a scene in which Batman takes down a helicopter on his motorcycle, he helps out with an autopsy remotely via a “photogrammetric scanner” he’s installed in the city morgue. It seems the threat to Bruce Wayne’s life may have something to do with “The Court of Owls,” a group of legend in Gotham of whom no one is supposed to speak. Batman denies their existence, but is he right?

I love seeing Batman do real detective work in this issue, right down to popping in on an autopsy for clues. The gadgets are always top-notch as well. Bruce Wayne has a new potential ally in Lincoln March, the “next mayor of Gotham,” but naturally that always leaves room for suspicion. The Court of Owls seems to be a looming threat and, as always, Batman’s on the case. He won’t have anyone trying to use the legends of Gotham against him.

Wonder Woman (New 52): #2

Wonder Woman continues with another strong issue. This one opens on Hera in Olympus waxing poetic about how displeased she is that yet another mortal is pregnant with Zeus’ child, the very woman who Hermes has recruited Diana to protect. Strife assures her mother that she’ll take care of it. This issue also features a nice telling of Diana’s origin story and we get to see Paradise Island, home of the Amazons. On Paradise Island, Amazons spar for fun – that is, until Strife shows up to make good on her promise to her mother.

In this issue, we also find out more about Zola, the woman carrying Zeus’ child, through a revealing conversation with Hermes that had me laughing. I’ve always found Greek and Roman mythology fairly fascinating, so seeing the interactions brought to life on these pages is such a treat. Diana is an interesting character all on her own, but throw in the rest of the Pantheon and I get a bit gleeful. Stylistically, I’m still digging the art in this series, particularly the way they’ve styled Hera in this issue. Her peacock/human persona fits perfectly with her proud, jealous personality. As it seems with each series I read, we’re left with a twist that leaves me wishing I didn’t have to wait a month for the next issue! It’s a tough life. 😉


