Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Last Night’s Mascara” is what I’ll be calling my write-ups of events or evenings out. In case it isn’t obvious, the name is inspired by how sometimes on those nights you wake up the next morning still wearing…last night’s mascara. 😉

Last night I accompanied my lovely friend Cassandra (seen with me above) to AdJam 2011 at the House of Blues on Sunset. It was a blast! Basically, it’s an event for Los Angeles ad agencies for a “Battle of the Agency Bands.” Different agencies put together bands comprised of people who work there and then they get to perform on stage at the House of Blues! Cassandra’s company, AvatarLabs, put together one of the bands that got to perform and they were pretty darn awesome. Cassandra even got to shake her booty on stage and she shook it like a champion!

Casey & the Avatars - AdJam 2011The theme for the bands was 50s/60s, so there were some great songs thrown into the mix. One band did a great version of Fever, AvatarLabs’ band “Casey & the Avatars” rocked it out to Helter Skelter, and everything closed out with another band doing Shout! You know I was singing along to some of those.

Plus I have to give props to House of Blues’ bartenders. It was super-crowded, but they still got to everyone quickly. Plus at one point, I told one of the bartenders I wanted a double Makers & Coke. He warned me they charge by the shot, so that would be an $18 drink. Naturally, I quickly changed my order to a single, but I watched him pour about 75% Makers into that drink. Needless to say, he got a bigger tip than usual. He could’ve just made the drink and handed it to me saying, “that’ll be $18,” so I very much appreciated it.

To sum things up, you know it was a good night when it ends with you yelling “I love you too!” back to people you just met that night (in this case: some of Cassandra’s awesome co-workers) and then sprinting across Sunset Boulevard in heels.

Casey & the Avatars - AdJam 2011Casey & the Avatars - AdJam 2011Casey & the Avatars - AdJam 2011Casey taking her final moment on stage. She totally rocked it!

What this morning looked like: large coffee, last night’s wristbands, & sunglasses.

Outfit for AdJam 2011For my outfit, I wasn’t sure how dressed up everyone would be, so I wanted something super cute, but not overly dressy. Fortunately, I’d found this dress on the same day I found the other one I recently posted on the sale racks at Macy’s! This one was originally around $130 as well and was marked down to about $30. So great.

Outfit for AdJam 2011My brother took these photos for me. To get a real smile, he says things like, “I’m just going to keep taking pictures until your butt explodes.” Sibling love, right there.

Outfit for AdJam 2011I ended up being a bit more dressed up than most of the people there, but I always prefer to be a little bit overdressed than underdressed. I’m wearing:

  • Dress: Guess? (via Macy’s sale)
  • Cardigan: H&M
  • Purse: FashionExpress (found in a Haight Street shop in SF when I was 18)
  • Shoes: Cynthia Vincent for Target
  • Sparkly Snail Ring: nOir Jewelry (via Anthropologie sale)
  • Amethyst necklace, double heart, & amethyst ring: my usual

Outfit for AdJam 2011 - Noir Jewelry snail ringBest ring ever, I have to say.

Outfit for AdJam 2011I left with a couple extra accessories. Also: pockets!

Outfit for AdJam 2011

