Tags

, , , , ,

For the past few months, I’ve been having quite a bit of fun with my manicures. The most recent one I did reminded me of ladybugs, so here it is!

The tools of the trade! I had to take off the old polish first, naturally. I know that some people use toothpicks or embossing tools for polka dots and more power to you if you do! However, I discovered these Sally Hansen nail art pens at Target and they’ve made life a lot simpler.

I’ll be using:

  • Essie’s Rock Solid base coat.
  • Essie’s Red-y Set Ex polish.
  • Sally Hansen nail art pen in Black.
  • Essie’s Good to Go top coat.

Red-y Set Ex just might be my favorite red at the moment. After putting on my base coat, I generally do two coats of my main color.

This is how Red-y Set Ex looks on its own. Now before you apply the polka dots, make sure that the base color is completely dry! Especially with the nail art pens, if your base color isn’t completely dry, the dots won’t apply properly. Also do not put your top coat on before the polka dots, as tempting as it may be. I did this once and quickly found out that the dots I’d painstakingly applied wiped right off over the top coat.

Play around with the pen and take your time with the dots! It’s not difficult, but it does require a bit of patience.

Once you have the dots how you want them and you’ve given them a few minutes to dry, just apply your top coat! I’m a big fan of Essie’s Good to Go because it really does seem to help my manicures dry more quickly. That’s always a good thing because who wants to sit around waiting for their nails to dry? Nobody I know!

& that’s it! Obviously this is a fairly simple manicure, but I still think it’s kind of adorable. If I do this combination again, I may try to draw an actual ladybug on a nail or two. There are endless possibilities!

