Tags

, ,

(photo by David O’Neill on Flickr)

Ever since I turned fifteen and stopped playing volleyball six days a week, it has been a constant battle to stay in shape. It’s a simple fact of life. There are ups and downs and round and rounds, but that remains the same. I accepted long ago that I will never be a size 2. I love my shape and my body! I’m happy to have it. It serves me well. However, I know that all of us, no matter what size or shape, would love to be a little more toned or lose a few pounds. It’s a somewhat inevitable part of being female in this day and age.

I generally do better with my fitness plans when I have an event coming up that gives me a particular motivation. Before my friend Ellen’s wedding in March, I did The Clean Program and lost twelve pounds in under a month. Admittedly I felt fantastic, but that is so hard to maintain because, at least for me, as soon as I was finished with the cleanse period, I wanted to go right back to eating the way I was before (and did).

I feel as though I have finally realized that in order to truly stick with a healthier lifestyle, it needs to be something that doesn’t deprive me of the things I love. Any diet or regimen that doesn’t allow me to have a slice of toast, a beer, or some cheese (especially cheese) is just not going to work for me in the long run. As many times as you read that the only way to get in shape and maintain it is to eat right and exercise, for some reason it takes a long time for that to really click. So I’m starting a new fitness regime with the long haul in mind rather than the short run.

My plan is to write weekly fitness posts about my progress. It will be helpful for me to be accountable somewhere, even if it’s in this blog! I’m planning on setting weekly goals for myself and seeing where it takes me. One other pitfall I frequently encounter is becoming obsessive about weighing myself. I will still be stepping onto the dreaded scale, but ideally I plan to limit that to once per week. I won’t post my weight on here, but I will also be taking weekly measurements and will post some of those here. I’d love it if some of you want to do this along with me! It’s always great to have workout buddies.

Here is my starting point. I’ve taken more measurements than this, but I’ll just be putting the basics on the blog:

  • Bust: 40.5 inches
  • Waist: 30.5 inches
  • Hips: 43.5 inches.

My goal for this week is to exercise at least four times. It can be in any form and anything is always better than nothing. I’ve been using the Nike Training Club app on my iPhone recently and that is a great tool for me, but I also like to change it up with a bike ride or a walk around the neighborhood. As far as I’m concerned, as long as I get out and get moving when I would have been sitting around reading or watching TV, it counts. This is the starting point! I’m excited to gain strength, energy, and to feel truly comfortable in my own skin.

